Bild Tarek Lohaus 1

“The world is art”

To discover one’s passion and to be able to pursue it professionally is a privilege. From myearliest childhood, I was interested in sports, and this was the reason for my Dual Studies Degree in Sport Sciences and Economics. I moved from the province to the German capital and worked for five years on the development and practical application of training devices and electrodes for electrical muscle stimulation.

As a family person and country boy, I was drawn back to my hometown of Wagenfeld, Lower Saxony, Germany in 2015. I was ready to quit my job and to reinvent myself at the age of 27. During my travels and my time in Berlin, I’ve gotten to know the cultural and geographic diversity of our planet. To remind myself of these fascinating impressions, I built a backlit world map floating in a wooden frame, which was neither in this way creatively nor constructionally available for purchase and which laid the foundation for my current work.

With support from my family, I then took the plunge into self-employment as an artist. Ever since, I have pursued the philosophy in my work that everyone cultivates emotional attachments to certain places due to personal experiences. For some, it is their hometown or favorite island. From an athlete’s point of view, it is their personal victories collected throughout the world and for businesses, it is the markets that they address or the strategical partners with whom they cooperate.

I convey these individual relationships between humans and places in pieces of art for interior and exterior use in order to make them accessible. Under the principle “world’s finest maps”, a world – or a specific part of it – is created as a personal and unique item for the living room at home, the garden, for businesses or cities.

The design variety is limitless. My portfolio contains not only three-dimensionally constructed paintings for interior or exterior use, but also unique fire pits that create a special atmosphere and spark philosophical conversations. I’m especially interested in designing functional pieces of art that continually adapt to the commissioner’s life. Think of maps on which personal travels, including individual details of the events as well as year dates, can be marked. Or think of athletes and sports clubs that can continually add stadiums or even the outlines of their titles won to the map. In the future, I intend to expand my portfolio by golf courts and race tracks, which I also conceive of as maps.

My neurotic strive for perfection and my enthusiasm for experimenting with various materials propel me every day to design constantly new, diverse artworks with my own personal handwriting.

 

Yours sincerely

Tarek Lohaus

Bild Tarek Lohaus 1

„Die Welt ist Kunst“

Seine Leidenschaft zu entdecken und dieser beruflich nachgehen zu können ist ein Privileg. Mein Interesse galt von Kindesbeinen an dem Sport und war Grund für mein duales Studium der Sportwissenschaften und Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Ich zog aus der Provinz in die deutsche Hauptstadt und arbeitete fünf Jahre lang an der Entwicklung und praktischen Anwendung von Trainingsgeräten zur elektrischen Muskelstimulation und deren Elektroden.

Als Familienmensch und Junge vom Land zog es mich 2015 zurück in meine Heimat Wagenfeld nach Niedersachsen. Ich war bereit meinen Beruf aufzugeben und mich im Alter von 27 Jahren neu zu orientieren. Während meiner Zeit in Berlin und auf meinen Reisen lernte ich die kulturelle und geografische Vielfalt unserer Erde kennen. Um mich an die faszinierenden Eindrücke zu erinnern, baute ich mir damals eine in einem Holzrahmen schwebend hinterleuchtete Weltkarte, die es in dieser Art und Weise weder konstruiert noch gestalterisch zu kaufen gab und den Grundstein für meine heutige Arbeit legte.

Mit der Unterstützung meiner Familie wagte ich daraufhin den Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit als Künstler. Seither verfolge ich mit meiner Arbeit die Philosophie, dass jeder Mensch aufgrund von persönlichen Erlebnissen, emotionale Bindungen zu bestimmten Orten hegt. Für den einen ist das die Heimatstadt oder die Lieblingsinsel. Aus der Sicht eines Sportlers sind es persönliche Erfolge, die rund um den Globus gesammelt wurden und für Unternehmen sind es die Märkte, die sie bedienen, oder die strategischen Partner mit denen sie kooperieren.

Diese individuellen Beziehungen zwischen Mensch und Ort nehme ich auf und transportiere sie in Kunstobjekte für in- und exterior, um sie greifbar zu machen. Unter meinem Leitbild „world’s finest maps“ entsteht eine Welt oder ein bestimmter Teil von ihr, als persönliches Unikat für das heimische Wohnzimmer, den Garten, für Unternehmen, oder für Städte.

Die Gestaltungsvielfalt ist dabei grenzenlos. Mein Portfolio umfasst dreidimensional konstruierte Malereien für in- und exterior, sowie einzigartige Feuerstellen, die eine besondere Atmosphäre erzeugen und zum Philosophieren einladen. Mein besonderes Interesse gilt dem Entwerfen funktioneller Kunstwerke, die sich dem Leben meiner Auftraggeber fortwährend anpassen. Maps, auf denen persönliche Reisen samt individuellen Details zu den Ereignissen, wie Jahreszahlen markiert werden können. Am Beispiel eines Sportlers oder Vereins können nachhaltig ergänzbar Stadien oder auch die Silhouetten der Titelgewinne eingearbeitet werden. Zukünftig sollen Golf Courts und Rennstrecken, die ich ebenso als map verstehe, mein Portfolio erweitern.

Mein neurotisches Streben nach Perfektion und meine Begeisterung am Experimentieren mit verschiedensten Materialien treiben mich jeden Tag an, immer neue, unterschiedlichste Arbeiten mit meiner persönlichen Handschrift zu entwerfen.

Ihr Tarek Lohaus